What to Know about Minnesota’s Pregnancy and Parental Leave Laws

This past legislative session, Minnesota passed a law guaranteeing employees the right to paid pregnancy or parental leave. This will go into effect on January 1, 2026.

As it stands, employees are entitled to 12 weeks of unpaid leave within 12 months of the birth or adoption of a child. Employees can choose when they would like to take this leave, with the only requirement being that they provide reasonable notice to their employers. Employees are entitled to their job back when they return from leave and they are entitled to continue receiving health insurance benefits while on leave, although they may be asked to pay for it.

Starting in 2026, the State of Minnesota will begin paying you a portion of your wages while you are out on leave, becoming the 12th state to offer such a program.

If you are experiencing discrimination or retaliation on the basis of your pregnancy or other protected status, contact Kitzer Rochel. Our experienced employment law attorneys would be happy to discuss your case and understand your legal rights and options.